PDA

View Full Version : 1984 Street Legal Big Red ATC200ES in FL

UFLBret
07-24-2014, 09:11 AM
Hey guys,
I posted a couple months ago in the new member section but I am finally a full fledged member and thought some of you might like to see my 1984 Honda ATC200ES Big Red which is street legal and tagged in FL. I don't plan on riding it much on the street here in Gainesville but it's pretty cool that it is tagged. So a little background. I started riding 3 wheelers as a kid in '86 when I got my first ATC110 in PA. My cousin had a blue '84 110 on their farm in Reading, PA. I always loved that blue one. I've had a Blaster and also raced a Banshee in FL in the open class at Dade City and County Line raceway by Sarasota which has been closed for years. So I haven't had any ATV for a number of years now and since we moved to Gainesville a little over a year ago and hunting season is coming I decided to look for an inexpensive hunting rig. Found a couple of '84 Big Reds for sale on CL and decided to go take a look. Ended up buying both and a small trailer for a good price with the intent on selling one since the owner wouldn't separate. The one I had to have was a 1 owner all original (except Cobra pipe) super clean '84 that was actually street legal! The PO said he tagged it in 1984 and has renewed the tag every year since. He went to the DMV with me to make the transfer seamless and it was. It is now tagged in my name. It has blinkers, a functioning brake light, horn, and mirror. The only thing that it does not have for street purposes is DOT tires but I don't plan on riding much at all on paved roads.
The other '84 is also in very good shape although the seat cover looks home made and is some sort of felt. I have a new skin coming to replace that, and the starter seems to be frozen on it, although everything else works great.