PDA

View Full Version : 85 tecate questions and build

emmie357
04-28-2014, 11:04 PM
Okay, so I got this 85 Tecate in December for $200, total basket case.

Top end was taken off, the wristpin dug into the side of the cylinder and the piston skirt was shattered (and piston installed backwards). The top end looked like it was off for years, all kinds of dust & oil in the crank. Previous owner said he had it for two years and never got to it. The guy he bought it off of said it sat for 5 plus. So I wanted to split the cases to replace all the seals and bearings. I slowly accumulated the parts for that and new top end. Picked up a stator, swinehart flywheel, stock pipe, few things here and there.

Eventually the engine was built and back in the trike, I ran it for a few minutes, didn't try to make it move because I had no brakes, and an old rusty chain. When the weather got nice, I started painting. Now the engine is back in, front brakes are on, new chain, chain slider, bearings replaced (Steering, front & rear wheels, swingarm, suspension. Now some minor problems.

1) I think I have an air leak. I had leak tested and thought I was ok. The only thing leaking was my tester lol. But it definitely wants to rev to the moon until I pull the choke... but it runs fine with the choke on. It was leaking at the exhaust, I removed the exhaust to see how I can address that, but would that cause an air leak? Also, I'm running stock jetting (260 main, 40 pilot) and 20:1 yamalube for break-in. The plug looks oily black and there is black oil spitting out of the exhaust. I think too much oil in the pre-mix? I was planning to tone it down after running a tank or two through. Is it true that too much oil can cause a lean condition (as there is less gas to burn)?