PDA

View Full Version : 4 stroke head porting question. Removing some of the valve guide?

trike savior
01-29-2014, 05:57 PM
I have a lot of experience porting cylinder heads and I have all the dremel and "windy" grinder stuff. My main question is about removing the hump of the valve guide that protrudes into intake/exhaust passage. To remove or not to remove? that is the question. When I first got into porting and doing research it was a very controversial topic, Keep in mind this was with car engines. The one side of the argument is obvious, that getting that chunk of metal out of the way will help flow. But some made the argument that when the valves began to float at high rpm they could become unstable since the guide is now so short and far from the seat, causing premature wear of the valve and seat.

I was not that bold so I always left those areas alone. however on these little motors (200x) that is a really big chunk of metal in the way, so I am tempted. Can anyone weigh in if they have removed the humps and if it has caused any problems, and how long it lasted. thanks in advance.

trike savior
01-29-2014, 07:29 PM
but like the Suzuki, wouldn't removing it completely give you the smallest surface area for the air to travel around, ie. just the valve stem

RIDE-RED 250r
01-29-2014, 07:49 PM
Just spit-balling with you here and in no way do I profess to be an expert porter. Feel free to tell me I'm wrong if I am..

One thing I would wonder about is unless you open the intake up significantly with a larger carb and probably a pod filter, would you see a real benefit from porting your head beyond a mild degree? You can get the head to flow alot more, but if it's held back by the stock intake tract and carb would it be beneficial?