PDA

View Full Version : 350x fork seal replacment help

kebby28
12-13-2013, 10:00 PM
So I did some searching and couldn't find anything on replacing the fork seals on the 350x. I have this front end installed on my 250es and I noticed one of the forks started to leak the other day. Well after a couple hours of riding it the other fork started leaking.?.?
Well I have never done forks before. I have the manual and I'm a decent mechanic but you folks seem to know all the tricks.

Should I buy this kit for $40
http://www.ebay.com/itm/85-86-HONDA-ATC350X-NEW-K-L-FRONT-FORK-DAMPER-OIL-SEAL-WIPER-KIT-15-4975-/370906907577?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&fits=Year%3A1985|Make%3AHonda&hash=item565bc643b9&vxp=mtr

Or can I just do the seals themselves:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HONDA-ATC-350X-FRONT-FORK-SEALS-1985-86-/290807359717?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item43b57828e5&vxp=mtr

I don't have allot of money but want to do it right. Is there any special tools I need to do this project or any other parts I should do while its apart? And, where is a good place to get a set of black fork boots of similar quality like the blue ones I have on there. Rigid with allot of ribs?
Thanks

kebby28
12-13-2013, 10:09 PM
Or #19
http://www.cheapcycleparts.com/oemparts/a/hon/506ba9f6f870023420a2126a/front-fork

devilman
12-13-2013, 10:14 PM
Its a simple job, just follow the manual. I would buy OEM seals. 90 degree snap ring pliers are a great tool to have. all I had was the straight type and it kicked my ass trying to get the rings out. place the fork in a vise and break loose the hex bolt before you unscrew the caps. a decent breaker bar with the hex bit will probably be needed. be careful not to strip it. may want to use an impact so you can shock it loose. I used a pvc pipe just bigger than the forks, as a seal driver.

Dirtcrasher
12-13-2013, 10:21 PM
I haven't found any seal to be better than OEM Honda in 25 years.........

kebby28
12-13-2013, 10:22 PM