PDA

View Full Version : Cold Weather Starting

generallee2005
12-08-2013, 03:30 PM
We recently moved to PA, so today is our first time really seeing it snow. I tried to get my YT125 started. Anyone have any suggestions to make it easier in the cold? It is pull start, & I did choke it, the choke does work. I tried push starting it after sweeping the snow away so the tires would grab, but really couldn't with the snow coming down. I don't really want to go through the trouble of pulling it behind the truck.

beets442
12-08-2013, 03:36 PM
I use a large quartz light underneath the motor and cover it with a tarp for a couple hours.

Ghostv2
12-08-2013, 03:42 PM
Maybe some of the guys from Alaska will chime in.
Im not an engine expert but maybe they jet it different for cold weather or tune is different in some way.

generallee2005
12-08-2013, 04:09 PM
What's a quartz light? Is it one of those halogen lights on a little stand? Goodness, I don't know what I'd do if I had to do a cold weather tune, that just doesn't sound fun to me.

CRAZY70MAN
12-08-2013, 05:06 PM
A little trick I have used on my sleds and trikes. When you go to park it for the night......choke it till it stalls.....this loads components with fuel faking the rich mixture ........... It has seemed to help quite a bit in the 0-10 degree starting for me personally. In the morning or the next time you ride....kick or pull aka....cycle the motor veryslowly a few strokes........and then kick or pull away. Hope it helps.......... Oh ya..... I do use starting fluid quite commonly still.....lol...:lol::lol::Bounce

atc007
12-08-2013, 05:28 PM