PDA

View Full Version : Everlasting problem..Stripped shifter

Ghostv2
08-15-2013, 01:05 AM
So most of you have came across this one time or another. Here is my plan. JB Weld.

PO tried to fix it with just welding the shifter to the shaft by plugging up the end hole with weld. It ended up coming loose and i have not taken the bike out since i do not have the money to buy a new shifter and shaft. So i knocked it off, drilled out the old weld, and now on to the next process. Cleaning the surface area. Degreasing it. Then im going to rough up the surface area so it has something to bond to.

Now i have no experience with this product before, but its worth a try until its fixed properly. I figure its just like any other epoxy or glue, prep the surface to ensure a good bond. Now im sure it would fail if i was just trying to hold it on, but its just going to be preventing it from sliding up and down. Which an epoxy should be good for.

Anyone else tried JB Weld for this application before? I believe proper set time and surface preparation should be the key.
If not, ill have to wait a week or so until i get my neighbor to weld the end again. Well, try to. Hell, maybe both applications.

honda200xguy
08-15-2013, 01:08 AM
I had the same problem on my dirt bike.
Then i got a new kickstart shaft and kickstarter and it worked fine ;)
BUT i bet jb weld would work i think..i've tried to do it on my dirtbike and it just kept coming lose after a certain amount of kicks.
I mean it might work for a bit, but eventually, that trailprotrailprotrailprotrailprotrailpro is just going to come off again.

Ghostv2
08-15-2013, 01:21 AM
Well as i said, its a temporary fix. It needs replaced regardless. I need to rebuild a lot on the trike anyways. Just not any time soon since im getting surgery and wont be able to ride for 6 months+. So not my priority now.