PDA

View Full Version : Head milling - For YT175

RubberSalt
12-19-2012, 03:08 AM
I aquired an old. REALLY OLD (1940s old) drill press the week before last. Well, I decided to put it to use as a mill. This is my first attempt, it appears successful so far. I also attempted aluminum welding(fail!) on this head before lol

I grabbed my buddy (spywell on the forums) X Y axis Vise and got to work.

First things first. Being I cheat at everything I do, I used the milling bit in the bit to level out the cylinder head in the vise. I moved it back and forth and watched it ever so closely try to drag on the head. Everything looked square. I grabbed my can of spray lube and got to work. I measured down on the head, .040.

Supplies:
Time (took me about 2 hours to mill)
Drill press (not the best tool but it works if you take your time and are careful)
Milling bit
XY Axis Vise
Lubricant
Sand paper(200-600+ grit)
Tape
Flat surface(glass marble, granite)
Dishsoap/water
Beer

I started in the corner and moved to the bottom. It was more consistant and.. Smarter lol

Almost done. I rushed this last part (Regretted it later!)

End product!! it was smooth. Straight edge shows it being level. not nearly as rough as the picture makes it look.

I taped some Wet/dry 220 grit sand paper to a sheet of glass. Sprayed some dishsoap/water on it and got to work. I made circles to remove material(figure 8 better when finishing)

You can see where i rushed it and the spot i started in. it was a little bit deeper. I kept on lapping it...

Woot!! the sand paper curled up. You can see the results near the bolt holes lol. I ended up taping all 4 sides down.

I used 320 drit and then 400grit. This pictures is from the 400 Grit.

This is 600 Grit. Almost a mirror finish.

Compression is in!! I had 95psi prior to taking the head off, 105 psi with the new bore(high exhaust port). Im sure I lost some at the dunes when my intake ripped and I detonated !!

With my redneck milled head I have 130psi! :-D