PDA

View Full Version : Aftermarket plastic gas tanks?

jays375
11-07-2012, 06:46 PM
Thinking about purchasing a plastic gas tank for my 350X.Mine isn't to bad,few dents and dings.Very little rust in it either.Just the cost of body work and painting.That is something that I am not very good at.So what are opinons on plastic gas tanks?Thinking of even getting a red one.How glossy is the finish?Some look to be on the dull side.

blue27
11-07-2012, 08:57 PM
There is a thread somewhere on this...and you will both good and bad... I have a black one on my 350X and have no issues with it.

90guy
11-07-2012, 09:06 PM
I'm also rocking a black one on my ride. It looks good idk how red is tho.

jays375
11-07-2012, 09:17 PM
Well I read some people had trouble with scoops hitting forks.Wonder how long before a white one will turn yellow?

90guy
11-07-2012, 09:19 PM
I have a white plastic one laying around that's a little yellowed. Not certain on the time it takes to yellow but it does happen letting it sit with gas in the tank makes it faster and also sitting in the sun does.

fabiodriven
11-07-2012, 09:34 PM
I picked up a nice used white plastic Clarke tank and it's slightly yellowed but it still shines up nice with a little WD-40. If you get tank decals, make sure you perforate them before you place them on the tank. Otherwise the fumes will travel through the plastic and bubble your decals until they eventually peel right off.

90guy
11-07-2012, 09:36 PM
I picked up a nice used white plastic Clarke tank and it's slightly yellowed but it still shines up nice with a little WD-40. If you get tank decals, make sure you perforate them before you place them on the tank. Otherwise the fumes will travel through the plastic and bubble your decals until they eventually peel right off.
Thanks for that info Fabio never thought if that!

just ben
11-08-2012, 12:10 AM