PDA

View Full Version : ATV Interchange website I'm building

ps2fixer
10-19-2012, 11:15 PM
I'm a programmer and can build interactive websites, so I figured something useful to make would be an Interchange program/website for three wheelers. The thing I'm lacking is exactly what parts interchange with what. So if I can get some help and can get a near complete listing I'll build it. I'm looking for straight bolt on interchange with little mods like swapping a 200x front end on a 250sx, or exact parts that interchange within a 250es and 250sx like the primary clutch.

I mainly have 250es and 250sx machines, so I can test swap most parts in my free time, but am interested in any three wheeler. I would like to expand it to three wheeler/ quad parts that interchange as well like carbs etc. My main focus is 250sx and es machines to start with, and yes.. I'll use the search button as much as possible and other sites for resources. I would like to also throw up the OEM part numbers etc too to make life easier. Any other suggestions / ideas?

I'm thinking the website will be the best option, easy to update and I can hook it all up to a database, down side, monthly costs to cover, but ads should offset the cost (not looking to profit really). I'm thinking the format should be where you can search part numbers, part names (ex 250es swing arm), and the standard Make->Year->Model->Part setup.

Flyingw
10-19-2012, 11:28 PM
Wow, thats a tall order. Basically you would have to gather all part numbers by year and model. I have seen some Honda fiche sites that do show applicability for any given part number. I find that info very useful especially for part numbers that have been discontinued and superceded by other part numbers. A good example of this is the flat faced bolts like the 8x55 used on the R. The 8x55 is discontinued but there is a 8x55 dimple head bolt used on quads in lieu of the flat faced bolt used on the R.