PDA

View Full Version : Installing a new transmission in my 200x, ran into a problem

x3IzEW
11-21-2003, 09:27 PM
I started a few hours ago taking apart my trike and not long after I ran into a problem. I'm trying to install a new transmission, and this is my first time taking my trike apart so please bare with me. I understand all I have to do is split the center crankcase, and I'm following what the book says. Heres where I ran into my problem. The book says to remove the alternator rotor, however I don't have the tool necessary to take it off. Now I'm not sure if I even have to take off this rotor to split the crankcase. (I'm thinking I have to so I can get at the cam chain). So If I do have to take it off, can I just use a bolt or something and not the tool? In the picture below in Fig. 33 it seems like thats all the tool is. Lastly, after this is off its just the piston head and crankcase... right?? Thanks for helping me out.

Da_Catt
11-21-2003, 09:50 PM
pull your swingarm bolt out and use that. it is the right size, i think that is how i did it.

hrc200x
11-21-2003, 10:19 PM
Yep, swing arm bolt works, I'm 100% sure of it, maybe even the front axle might work if your swing arm bolt is rusted in.

speed20
11-21-2003, 11:12 PM
wyltk55,