PDA

View Full Version : Tri-z guys-How do I remove my coolant impeller?

Tri-Z Pilot
11-13-2003, 02:32 AM
I Just ordered my right side crank seal, and my waterpump seal, and I dont know how to remove the impeller to get the side case off (I am new to liquid cooled bikes). My 85 tri-z manual doesnt really give the steps, and I havent taken the side case off yet so I wanted to know before I open it up, how you take the impeller off. Does it spin off, do you have to reach in and take that pin out and pull the whole assembely out. I am going to take the side case off tommorrow and see what I can do if nobody replies before then.

sportvette
11-13-2003, 08:35 AM
my bro changed the seals in the 85 250r water pump.

the first time he tightened the impeller back on, he broke a fin off. so i bought another one for $10 on ebay and then we put it back on.

there is a universal holder, suggested for use by the oem honda service manual.

however, we didnt have the holder, so we held the impeller from spinning with a screwdriver, the first time, he was a little bit on the outside of the fin, so it snapped. next time we did it together, i held the impeller from moving with a screwdriver, made sure i was on it good, and he torqued it down.

for the 250r, there is just a nut that holds it on. not sure about the tri-z's.

TimSr
11-13-2003, 08:55 AM
You have to remove the kickstarter and side cover first. The impeller has a clip on the inside holding it in. Remember there is an allen bolt inside under the kickstarter when removing the cover bolts.

J.D.
11-13-2003, 11:40 AM
Naturally, don't forget to take the little waterpump cover off too before you slide the impeller off. Here's a word of advice too, if you're gonna do 1 crank seal, you might as well do both. Why do 1/2 of something only to finish it later when 1/2 will be worn and the other 1/2 won't? Just my 2 cents....

Tri-Z Pilot
11-13-2003, 06:21 PM