PDA

View Full Version : Tri-Z Basket Case ???

match
11-29-2011, 02:37 AM
Hello gang ! Just helped my brother look at and purchase a decent 1992 LT250R Suzuki, and while we were at the guys shop, I noticed he had a 1986 Tri-Z in pieces. He said it belonged to a buddy of his. The story was that he flipped it over in the river one day, drug it out and parked it without draining the oil, etc. The jug is off the motor, and he said it would need a complete bottom end rebuild. He said if his buddy doesn't come get it in a week or so, he needs to get rid of it. If I can get this thing bought on the cheap, would it be worth it ?? Anybody resurrect a basket case Tri-Z ?? Is it even worth doing ? Anyways, what's the Tri-Z parts situation ?? Are bottom end parts hard to get / expensive ? Who's the best source for engine parts ? Sorry for the questions, but I have plenty of experience with ATC 250r's, but none with the Yamahoppers. I'd love to add another 2 stroke three wheeler to the stable. Thanks !

Xowner
11-29-2011, 03:01 AM
There all savable it just comes down to what you have in it and what its gonna cost to get it ridable. Are Tri-z's hard to find in TX? The 6 speed bottom ends are a little bit tuffer to find depending on how long the water has sat in there. You might just need to go threw and replace all the bearings and rebuild the crank. Wont know whats worth without some pictures and doing a little more digging on whats there and what aint!

slaughter
11-29-2011, 03:21 AM
im in the middle of a rebuild myself and have found pretty much everything on ebay for pretty cheap i have even come across a few rebuild engines for under 500 but i guess it all depends on what you want to spend and what you consider worth it

200xranger
11-29-2011, 01:13 PM