PDA

View Full Version : 200x kickstarter repair

kookoohead
11-06-2003, 12:17 AM
Hello, I am new to this forum, and am looking for any info on fixing my 85 200x. I have been triking since 1983, when my dad bought a Trimoto 175, then in 1987, I bought my 200x. A few years ago, we also aquired a 1984 big red, as a work trike, on the farm. Anyhew, I have to repair the kickstarter on the 200x, and am asking if anyone has any tips, info, advice, and the such, on this. Thankyou -D

gasoline and whiskey
11-07-2003, 10:59 AM
I may be able to help you with this, I am fixing up an 85 200x now
that had some serious kickstarter problems. is yours slipping or
lever not returning upwards after the kick?

ATCMedic
11-07-2003, 11:09 AM
If you have an 83 or early 84 200x motor you might need to update to the later (heavier duty) internal kickstarter gears. I have done this update many times, and have all of the parts for it. If you need parts or advice on fixing your motor pm me.

kookoohead
11-11-2003, 02:31 PM
Sorry for the slow reply, but busy weekend, and as today is a holiday in Canada, Remembrance day. My kickstarter is slipping. It would slip the odd time for the past while, but still catch, and now it only slips. The lever does come up on its own. Thanks for the advise.

bobr
11-11-2003, 11:48 PM
I have this same problem with a XR200. Wish I knew how to fix it. Bob

kookoohead
11-11-2003, 11:51 PM
Yes, am hoping someone out there has had the same problem. -D

gasoline and whiskey
11-14-2003, 01:38 PM
I am NOT the most experienced bike mechanic but I will try to help you if I can. The first thing I recomend is getting a repair manual for your trike.
read the section on the trans and the starter gears and compare this to