PDA

View Full Version : Question about electric start

ATCmudderTY
08-01-2011, 10:05 PM
Probably a dumb question but I'm new to this 3 wheeler thing but not new to mechanics. My electric start on my 1984 Honda 200m does not work. So tomorrow I am going to attempt to rewire it. I looked at the wiring diagram that is posted on this site and it looks like it is going to be very helpful. However, I don't know the location of some of the parts I will need to be wiring to(started solenoid, starter, and neutral switch). If someone could help me out that'd be great.

tri again
08-02-2011, 03:35 AM
Probably a dumb question but I'm new to this 3 wheeler thing but not new to mechanics. My electric start on my 1984 Honda 200m does not work. So tomorrow I am going to attempt to rewire it. I looked at the wiring diagram that is posted on this site and it looks like it is going to be very helpful. However, I don't know the location of some of the parts I will need to be wiring to(started solenoid, starter, and neutral switch). If someone could help me out that'd be great.

Never had an 'm' but
there are full shop manuals in the
'world class help'
section

Main fat wire from the battery should go directly to the solenoid
and from the sol to the starter.
The neutral safety switch on the bigreds and sx's
is under a sheetmetal cover either under the shifter or brake pedal.
2 wires, one goes to neutral light, the other to reverse light

ATCmudderTY
08-02-2011, 12:01 PM
Thanks for the help. After messing with the wiring for a few hours I think Im just going to go without electric start for now. The previous owner removed the neutral light and the factory starter switch mounted on the handlebars and tried installing a new switch where the neutral light used to be and its just a huge mess. So now my new question is, will I still be able to pull start it with all that wiring disconnected and only leaving the wiring coming from the key switch??

tri again
08-03-2011, 04:39 AM