PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Tri- Z questions.

jfaulkner02
07-29-2011, 10:31 PM
Ok, I recieved this 85 1/2 Z in a trade a while back. Been thinking about finally puting some work into it. Its basically complete with engine. Im pretty new with working on 2 strokes. Here is the tricky part.....When I got the bike the topend was off of the engine and I was told that it had a new piston, rings, etc. These parts do look new and seem to be in good shape. Here is why I have ?'s. With having the new piston and such you can tell that its been up the cylinder atleast once. My question is.....if it has new top end and appears that it has been reassembled, cranked, then disassembled......why was it taken apart? I have not just thrown it back together and gave her a kick due to this reason.....dont want to screw it up. Any info would be great...thanks.

yamaha_ripper98
07-30-2011, 01:52 AM
typical reason for this is because alot of the cheap gasket kits have a very thin cylinder base gasket and when you fire for the first time it will leak and often this goes undetected until the first start had this problem with my first 85 tri-z engine build... you can tell by the crosshatches in the cylinder if the engine has been ran much since the last rebuild if its shiny its not as fresh if its real fresh you will see 1000's of vertical crosshatches on the cylinder wall crossing one another at about a 30 degree angle this is so the rings will seet good with the cylinder beause rings really do all the work the piston just mostly takes up space for compression and goes for one wild ride

jfaulkner02
07-30-2011, 09:31 AM
Ok, yamaha_ripper98, basically i need to check the cross hatches? I just want to make sure i dont mess anything up when i go to fire it.

El Camexican
07-30-2011, 10:08 AM
Measure everything up regardless of visual condition. Bore, piston, rings etc. Buy new gaskets and put it togeter. Ripper, which gaskets do you NOT recomend?

zzmegad
07-30-2011, 10:46 AM