PDA

View Full Version : Fixing up my 250sx on a low budget.......

mcgahen88
05-12-2011, 12:36 PM
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to 3 wheeler world, and 3 wheelers period. I just got my first one early this yr, since then I've had 6 of them come into my hands, 4 of my own, 2 for my buddy, and I've been addicted to them from day 1. Anyways, this is going to be my first thread, and what I would like to do is show what I've done to make my 86' 250sx look and run a little better so far with very limited funds, and continue to update as I go along. If your like me and can't afford to go out and buy all new plastics, rims, performance upgrades, expensive pipes etc right now........"can we try a poor mans restoration?" lol. Id like to hear other ways you've cleaned up/ fixed your trike other than just replacing components, even if it might be a longer or harder task. Weather you want to sell it and bring the value up, or just want your trike to look/ run better,(I know you can't make a showroom trike out of a pile of junk, or fix a broken valve or something if you spend enough time with it, that's not what I'm trying to do here lol) but there's an endless wealth of knowlage around this forum. If anyone has suggestions, pointers, ideas as far as mechanics, performance and reliability, cosmetics, constructive criticism, old school tricks, whatever you got would be greatly appreciated guys, thanks.
Matt

AtcFactoryRacer
05-12-2011, 01:49 PM
You can wet sand and buff the fenders(inexpensive, but time consuming) Repaint the gas tank, you can get reproduction decal kits for pretty cheap from members on here or on ebay. You can get seat covers for about 30 bucks....

Billyboy34
05-12-2011, 02:00 PM
Checkout the thread below. You can apply the same "means & methods" to restoring the fenders, as you will see in the first post of the thread. It's a little time consuming, but has great results!

http://www.3wheelerworld.com/showthread.php?127611-250R-quot-Tank-Polishing-quot