PDA

View Full Version : what kind of clutch does the 250sx have?

k00leo
11-26-2010, 04:29 PM
Could someone please explain to me what type of clutch the atc 250sx has and how it works. I'm new to three wheelers and manual clutches. My Suzuki lt-160 has an auto clutch though you have to shift gears with your foot. It seems my sx has a manual clutch though doesn't seem to do anything. I can just shift gears like it is an Auto clutch.

Thanks in advance

Yamaha_Rules69
11-26-2010, 04:31 PM
It IS an auto clutch ,, The lever on the left handlebar is likely a rear brake lever, it has two - one for your foot, and one on the left handlebar. Good luck!

k00leo
11-26-2010, 04:42 PM
But the lever on the left side of the handle bar goes directly to the motor as if it was a clutch.

Yamaha_Rules69
11-26-2010, 04:47 PM
Is that how they went into reverse by first having to enguage that lever? I havnt owned a 250sx or been around them too much, but I know for sure that they dont have a hand actuated clutch.

Dirtcrasher
11-26-2010, 05:23 PM
The lever is pulled with the button pushed down for reverse. It attaches to the lower left of the clutch cover.

The way an "auto clutch" works, is that when you shift up or down the shift shaft has a linkage that mates to another linkage behind the clutch cover. When your foot moves, it pushes the clutch in just as if you were pulling in a lever like a dirtbike. If someone wanted to bother machining and welding, the SX could be changed to a manual clutch; They are exactly the same.

You have another clutch, a centrifugal clutch. Without that clutch, when you shifted into 1st or "super low" the trike would lunge forwards. This clutch works off of RPM's and throws 3 shoes outwards to grip until it's up to speed. At that point your not shifting and the main clutch is closed and driving you ahead.......

mtsnieg
11-26-2010, 08:56 PM
But the lever on the left side of the handle bar goes directly to the motor as if it was a clutch.