PDA

View Full Version : 1986 ATC 250R...wont start...help!

J9reaper
10-24-2010, 12:13 PM
107799Here is the deal, when I bought this 250r it started right up. It ran a few minutes then ran out of gas. I loaded it up took it home.....wouldnt start, tried for about an hour to start and then decided to let it sit overnight (maybe flooded). Ok next morning same thing, wouldnt start. I took it back to the guy I bought it from, he cleaned the spark plug ( it was fouled like crazy) ...started right up ...3 or 4 times in a row but would not idle. So I took it home once again. Guess what would not start..cleaned spark plug again, was clean this time, put it back on and tried again and nothing but gas out the overflow tube on the carb! Let it sit overnight and would not start the next morning. I went and bought new a spark plug, exact same kind. Replaced the old plug with the new one and still nothing. I'm not a mechanic and I have never owned a 2 stroke before. A run down of what I have checked and or done is.....put new properly mixed fuel in (prevoius owner said 44:1 becouse of the alluminum head and bored 30 over) , new spark plug, check airfilter, checked all the hoses to make sure they were all connected as best I could tell anyways, ordered new on/off ignition switch (just in case). Im kinda at a loss here...and to make matters worse my wife told me not to get it in the first place...and now it wont start, so I gotta prove her wrong now guys!! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

D-dub
10-24-2010, 12:42 PM
Check compression. Then go back to all stock settings, Carb and airbox. set your float height. and clean your petcock. check your reeds

3wheelrider
10-24-2010, 01:03 PM