PDA

View Full Version : Tecate crankshaft play (please help)

denn
09-24-2010, 12:20 PM
I pulled my tecate cylinder today due to a broken powervalve arm mechanism. It has a hot rods connecting rod in it which I tought had a bit of excess play. As I was rocking it side to side i noticed the CRANKSHAFT had side to side play as well. I have never seen a crankshaft move side to side in a case before. I am BRAND NEW to TECATES and don't know if there is supposed to be any or what could cause this. I could really use some help. I haven't had much luck on the site lately with answers but I am hoping some tecate people will chime in on this.

Thanks Denn

fabiodriven
09-24-2010, 12:45 PM
A little bit of lateral movement in the rod is a pretty normal thing but if the rod "rocks" from side to side, you have an issue. The crank should not be moving from side to side. It's impossible to give you a positive answer just from a description, but it doesn't sound good.

Dirtcrasher
09-24-2010, 07:37 PM
I'd have to see a Tecate engine apart.

Wouldn't just the primary gear nut itself prevent any lareral movement??

Or do you mean the connecting rod has some side to side movement which is fine........

Vootie
09-24-2010, 09:24 PM
a mm or so of lateral movement is fine and normal for the con rod, but up and down and rocking movement is not. If the whole crank is rocking back and forth, that is definately not good. My guess would be that the crank bearings are toast. Side to side movement of the crank itself I don't think would be possible?

tecat-z
09-24-2010, 10:08 PM