PDA

View Full Version : tri-z went nuts!!!

Mr lovebucket
09-02-2010, 11:05 AM
hi there i am quite new to the trike scene i have a couple of tri-z's.
the other day i was working on one of them i jumped on kicked it
over till it started reved it a couple of times & clicked it into first gear
i had only just released the clutch (slowly) when without me giving it anymore throtle
it went nuts taking me straight through a hedge. i know i know it sounds
like the throttle jamed but if it had it would of jamed in a very low rev?
when i say nuts it went on full revs in first. anyone got a clue what happened?

swampthang
09-02-2010, 11:09 AM
My vaccum line came off my fuel pump and it leaned it out like crazy the only way i got it to stop was to shift into 5th and dump the clutch to kill it. maybe your is sucking air somewhere.

Dirtcrasher
09-02-2010, 11:33 AM
Fuel pump died, ran out of fuel and created a lean condition. Same or similar to the above poster.

What color is the plug??

Mr lovebucket
09-02-2010, 05:02 PM
it wouldnt start for ages i looked at the plug & it was wet & dark but not to sooty. that was a bit earlier though.

Mr lovebucket
09-02-2010, 05:04 PM
ok cool i will check it out. a friend told me it could of been a build up of fuel in the crank case? a common problem with 2 strokes? all i know is i wanna sort it before i get back on it lol am just glad it was only 1st gear i was in!

Dirtcrasher
09-02-2010, 08:38 PM
Yes, it is a common problem when the gas is on and it's leaking through a float from a tank higher than the cylinder.

Your Z has a fuel pump, it's only filling the bowl when it's running.

Billy Golightly
09-02-2010, 10:25 PM
Its also possible it developed an air leak, allowing the engine to suck additional air into it that created a lean out condition and high revving as well.

Mr lovebucket
09-03-2010, 02:45 AM
so it makes sense that there is an air leek in the pump or lead up to the pump as it wouldnt start for ages before it?

leviblue