PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, got 2 trikes, where do I go from here?

bobotech
06-26-2010, 04:57 PM
I went to an auction last night and on a whim bought the 2 beat looking trikes they had there. One is a Honda ATC110 from 1984 and the other is a yellow Yamaha.

I never have had a 3wheeler/quad of any kind before.

Now for starters, both of the engines seem to be free, not locked up or anything however the Yamaha pull start doesn't seem to catch normally.

I got both of the trikes for 100 bux so I'm not really worried about investing a little money into these.

Here are some pics of the trikes still on my trailer:
http://s904.photobucket.com/albums/ac245/bobo_snyder/trikes/

I have no idea what size or model the Yamaha is, maybe someone could tell me where to find more info about it.

dcreel
06-26-2010, 05:08 PM
It looks like a pretty good deal for $100. The Yamaha is either a yt125 or yt175. There should be a stamp on the engine showing the size of the engine. Or you can look for the vin on the side of the steering head and run the vin on one of the decoders floating around the site.

Or see if the previous owner painted over the decal on each side below the tank showing the size. :-)

You'll have to get some better pictures of the tires on the Yamaha, they look like street tires. Very interesting.

bobotech
06-26-2010, 06:11 PM
This is a dumb question but are these trikes 2 cycle or 4 cycle? I'm just not sure if I want to use my moped gasoline or just straight gas. And if they use straight gas, where do I check the oil?

antonio0725
06-26-2010, 06:18 PM
the yamaha is a yt125 for sure yt175s had shocks on the front end i just rebuilt one this one is 2 cycle the red on is a honda prolly 4 cycle but idk

bobotech
06-26-2010, 06:27 PM
So witht he YT125, can I just use my 50-1 gas-oil mix?

HONDA_ATC_FREAK
06-26-2010, 06:47 PM