PDA

View Full Version : will fiberglass resin withstand gas and fumes?

TDS
04-15-2010, 10:21 AM
story is ive got a honda 4 wheeler with a metal tank it has tons of tiny holes in the bottom. i tapped poked and found all the soft spots.

i removed all the rust. but i need to fill these holes. i tried welding but there is just to many to get sealed and i think the metal is just to thin for my lack of welding skills

if i mix up some fiberglass resin and pour it in the tank to seal up the holes will the standing gas and fumes eat it. i would also plan to redkote the inside of the tank after the resin cures

buying a new tank is out of the question as this atv was made for 2 yrs and any all tanks i find are around $200 due to being hard to find. i payed $125 for the atv and am planning on giving it to my dad. i just dont wanna do a temp repair and have gas leaking in the garage 3 month later

fabiodriven
04-15-2010, 10:38 AM
I am by no means an expert in this area, but I do know for a fact that there are boats that have fuel tanks made of fiberglass. You may want to look into that.

TDS
04-15-2010, 10:51 AM
i have noticed that about boats

Grizzlypeg
04-15-2010, 10:55 AM
Have you tried soldering the holes shut? You want to clean them up free of rust and use acid flux like plumbers use along with a small torch. There's no problem priming and painting lead solder.

Vantage
04-15-2010, 02:24 PM
Fiberglass will definitely withstand gas, but that will not be your problem. Because you can't get in and super-clean the rust the fiberglass will most likely fail to adhere 100%, 'missing' just a bit here & there. Because of that you'll have fuel seeping underneath the resin, gradually or quickly finding its way out of tank.