PDA

View Full Version : '86 250sx Cold Start Difficulties

Xhumeka
04-07-2010, 12:03 PM
So I've been procrastinating from trying to fix my cold start problems on my '86 250sx because frankly - I'm scared to take apart a carb! I've never done it before, and it seems rather daunting to a newbie.

That being said, I'm willing to take my time, take lots of pictures, and follow my workshop manual to take it apart and clean all the jets and passages if necessary, but I wondered if there's ANYTHING else I should try before attempting a large (for me) project like taking apart my carb.

Some carb cleaner aeresol cans say you can spray the cleaner directly into the air intake of the carb with the engine running - should I try that before I remove everything, or is that a bad idea?

The engine seems to run GREAT once warmed up... no bogging or missing. Once warm, it also starts up like a champ.

The only problem I have is cold starts... no amount of choke seems to help. In fact, I've never been able to start it with any amount of choke - I have to crank the engine over for quite awhile (no choke, applying throttle every now and then) before it finally starts to catch.

Once it finally starts, I have to give it about a 1/8 throttle for 10-15 seconds before it will idle on it's own. If I apply choke at this point, the engine dies - so that seems to imply to me that my choke/starter valve is working.

So once it starts, everything is great... it's just GETTING it to start is the challenge!

Any help greatly appreciated!!

honda200x1987
04-07-2010, 12:21 PM
When there is a problem with cold starting it could be as simple as replacing the spark plug, use NGK OEM spark plugs. The other problem could be your carb. First clean your air cleaner box and change or clean the air filter. The carb may need a little cleaning. One other problem could be your engine is burning oil making it harder to start when cold...Does it smoke?

userj8670
04-07-2010, 12:23 PM