PDA

View Full Version : New to Maintenance/Service

AZ.45
12-08-2009, 12:14 PM
I'm new to the ATC world and would like to learn how to do basic maintenance/service on my 200x. I have the manual for my 1985 200x and it seems pretty easy! Right now I am wanting to change the oil & put in a new spark plug. I just put in a new Uni Air-filter, so thats already done. Later I want to put in new brake fluid. The only thing I dont get is how to bleed the brakes without letting air in the hose. So What I'm basically asking is how to change the oil, is there any certain ways you guys do it? or is it just like the manual says?

harryredtrike
12-08-2009, 12:28 PM
easy oil change,warm motor and shut off.open the plug on the bottom left of the motor.its a 21mm i think,maybe 22mm.there is a spring and steel filter in there.drain oil and clean filter screen.put back together and refill.2nd most important is chain maintenance.keep a well adjusted and oiled.a chain tensioner and case savers are great.also your two back wheels need to be exactly the same as far as air presure.

AZ.45
12-08-2009, 01:04 PM
easy oil change,warm motor and shut off.open the plug on the bottom left of the motor.its a 21mm i think,maybe 22mm.there is a spring and steel filter in there.drain oil and clean filter screen.put back together and refill.2nd most important is chain maintenance.keep a well adjusted and oiled.a chain tensioner and case savers are great.also your two back wheels need to be exactly the same as far as air presure.

Thanks man! How do I clean the filter screen? Do I use chain wax on my chain? And how do I adjust the chain? I will post a pic of my bikes chain I'm not sure if its adjusted right, there may be some slack. Let me know what you think.

AZ.45
12-08-2009, 01:17 PM
Here's the only pic of the 200x chain I have right now, does it need to be adjusted?

harryredtrike
12-08-2009, 01:39 PM